Daily Prompt: Waiting

via Daily Prompt: Waiting

Waiting, hoping, waiting

For the calm

Crashing waves around me

A dark scary sky, no stars

Hidden moon, silent noises, fear clothes me

Waiting, hoping, waiting

For the calm

Down to the depths, ocean swirling

Can’t catch my breath

I am drowning, no air

I am sinking to the bottom

I can’t see, fear engulfs me

Can I rise, can I rise, will I rise

I lurch into the tide, gasping for breath

The moon has pierced the darkness

I thrash and swirl and clutch the ocean

Drag myself up, above the water

Gasping for breath, I taste the salt

I float on the tide

I watch the moon

Waiting for calm

Leave a Reply

